A Mothers’ Day story

This is used with permission from my friend and our Troop Leader at Frontier Girls troop 205, Tami Larsen. She sent this email out to a number of us moms and I thought it so inspiring, I asked her if I could share it with you! 

I just love writing something for my mom friends for Mothers Day.  Most years, God lays something on my heart early in the week before Mothers Day, and I just can’t stop writing until I have it down.  But this week, I have felt pretty empty.  

 

Until today. 

 

Today, I yelled at another mom.

 

But not in the way you think.

 

I didn’t yell at her for how she was treating her children, or for cutting me off in traffic, or for being ugly to my kids. 

 

I was driving thru the HEB parking lot. It was pouring down rain outside – I mean POURING. I saw a mom holding two toddlers on her back as she tried to run through the rain into the store. Besides being very wet, she looked tired and defeated. She seemed to be slowing down.  Something came over me – almost instinctive.  Without even thinking about it, I rolled down the window and yelled through the rain as loud as I could, “Keep going! You can do it!” 

 

At first, she looked at me in much the same way YOU might look at someone who was suddenly cheering you on…in the rain…in the grocery store parking lot!  She was baffled, trying to figure out if she knew me (which she did not).  Then suddenly, she realized we were complete strangers…and she smiled. I mean a HUGE smile…filled with relief and understanding.  The weariness seemed to melt away.  A new resolve seemed to build within her as she ran the rest of the way across the parking lot, actually laughing with her young children.

 

It made me feel so…convicted.  It made me wonder…why don’t I do this more often??  There are moms I see every day…from the closest friends to the most remote strangers…and all they need to hear is, “Keep going! You can do it!”  It could be with my words or with my actions.  It could be a smile, a pat on the back, or a hug at just the right time.  But all too often the moment just passes by.  Maybe sometimes I am just too busy.  Or maybe I am just not sure of whether to say something or not, or how to say it.  Sometimes I probably just don’t pay attention.

 

But think of the way the world would be impacted if all the moms in the world became cheerleaders—for each other!  We would all feel so renewed and lifted up.  We would be filled with a new sense of our ability to fulfill this amazing privilege given to us as moms.  The weariness wouldn’t be such a big deal any more…because someone out there understands…and is willing to cheer us on when we need it.

 

So, today I am here to tell you this.  I know you’re tired.  I know motherhood can be challenging.  I know you are dealing with more stuff than you ever imagined.    But I also know that Jesus said, “In this world you will have trouble. But take heart! I have overcome the world.”  (John 16:33)

 

Keep going, mama!  You can do this!  God has you in the palm of His hand…and He’s not letting go.  Keep running.  Stay focused on the reason why you do what you do. 

 

And while you’re at it…be another mom’s cheerleader today.  It is hard to focus on your own struggles when you are cheering for someone else.  And maybe you can start a cycle of encouragement you never dreamed possible.

 

I know it’s raining mama, I know the load is heavy…but keep going.  You can do it.

 

“I can do all this through him who gives me strength”.

Philippians 4:13

Leave a Reply

