Inversion Method review (free way to grow your hair)

In April 2013 I had the great idea to do a “real pixie cut”.

 I chopped off all of my hair as close as  I could just to see if I could get away with it. 

And immediately started growing it all out again. 

I do not look good with a pixie and I felt like a boy. I just do not have the cute face for it and as I started reading on modesty and becoming more feminine as God made me , I realized that it is a beautiful thing for women to have lovely long flowing locks. 

IMG_0367

See, a pink shirt and I still look like Peter Pan. This was April or May 2013

After looking into all natural ways to grow out my hair since I have stopped coloring it (the top pixie pic is henna and the bottom recent pics are my natural hair which is still holding a red-tint even though I am a blonde. I think I need more sunlight! 

My sister sent me a link to the  1 week Inversion Challenge and I was instantly intrigued.  

The basis behind it is to massage a warmed oil into your scalp for 4 minutes while you invert your head, and let the blood flow to your roots. You do this once a day for 7 days and the results have been anywhere from 1/2″ to 1.5″ of new growth in that time frame. *You can only do this once every 3 weeks and need to give your hair a rest or it stops working*.

I started with a lemon and honey hair mask to lighten my hair anyway and figured I could add some oil before washing it out. I used half castor and half coconut. 

That was WAY too oily for my hair. Our water softener was out of salt so my hair looked greasy and wet for 48 hours. 
I decided to go every other day with the oil, but still inverted every night.

 

THE RESULTS:

Starting Photo: Jan 9

Final Photo: Jan 17

I did not measure my hair before and after, I just used my handy hair length tee and from what I can tell, I got around 3/4″. 
That is pretty amazing because if I add it to the normal 1/2″ of growth in a month, I will get 1 1/4″ of growth this month, so if I do it again next month, I will have added 3″ onto my hair before Disney. 

unnamed IMG_3545

My goal length is to my waist because the last time it was that long I was 6 years old. (You can’t see, but I marked that length with a *star* on my shirt. 

I will keep using this method for a few reasons

a) it makes me pay attention to my hair once a month

b) the coconut oil and the scalp massages made my hair so soft and shiny

c) it worked!

 

This is yet another amazing use for coconut oil.

I think the next time, I will do the coconut oil every day, sleeping on it and washing out in the morning so I don’t have to worry about grease head when I am trying to take my kid to Co-op or get groceries.

 

Have you ever tried the Inversion Method? 

Give it a shot and tell me if it worked for you! 

Leave a Reply

