Sloppy Papa Joes (THM S)

When I was 8 or so, I remember a visit where my Papa Joe made his version of sloppy joes.
1 lb ground beef browned
1 can cream of mushroom soup
Half bottle of mustard.
Mix it up and serve it between hamburger buns.

My brother of course hated it, vehemently claiming to be allergic to mustard but it was amazing to me because I have never liked sloppy joes- too sweet or something.

Over the years I have tweaked it, adding whole wheat bread, then making my own cream of mushroom, then the transition to grass fed beef.

I now present-

TRIM HEALTHY MAMA SLOPPY PAPA JOES -S

Sloppy Papa Joes

 

1.5 lb organic ground beef (4.99 lb at Costco)
1/2 cup sour cream (watch the carbs)
1/2 cream
Half bottle gulden’s spicy brown mustard
1/4 cup water
1/8-1/4 tsp gluccie
1 tsp turmeric
Salt and pepper
2 cloves garlic
1/4 cup diced onion
Splash of liquid aminos

*I NEVER use measurements so the above is a guess. I scoop, squirt and taste*

Brown the beef with salt and onion and garlic.
Stir in sour cream, heavy cream, water and mustard and simmer. (I add mustard when my kids are not looking so they won’t question it) Wisk in the gluccie as needed to make it thicker and tweak to taste with salt, pepper and a splash of aminos.
For my husband and I, I serve this over buttered spaghetti squash with either a side salad or cheesy broccoli and add cracked pepper on top.
For my kids, I add in some carbs with peas and soaked brown rice.

 

Leave a Reply

