Tuna Cakes, Trim Healthy Mama Style (S)

We are at the tail end of our budget and part of one of my posts I started was 

“Trim Healthy Mama on a Teeny Tiny Budget”

I did stick to THM, but did not follow through on tracking my budget. 

We spend between $500 and $600 per month for a family of 5. But I need to reign it in to $500 or LESS per month. 

I started by seeing if I could buy nothing new for 10 days (the time we had left until payday) and make decent meals out of it. We did have to buy some meat during that week and some eggs but we had enough veggies and rice/lentils/quinoa to last long and boy did I have to get creative!

Because I tried to eat down the pantry, my kids and I were left with not much to go on yesterday. No leftovers (they ate the entire pot of lentils!) No meat in the freezer, no rice for fried rice or stir-fry, no soup.

I wanted to make Tuna sandwiches but forgot to make sourdough bread.  I also wanted to try to stick to an on plan meal because I noticed I started gaining again as I have been liberal with my crossovers.

So I made these bad boys! 

THM tuna cakes

2 cans tuna ,drained (I accidentally got the ones in oil so I omitted the coconut oil)

1 egg

1 Tbsp almond flour

1 Tbsp flax meal

1/2 tsp baking powder

1 Tbsp dill

salt and pepper to taste

(I would add 1 Tbs coconut oil if your tuna is in water)

Butter/Coconut oil for frying.

Fry them up in a cast iron pan until puffy and crispy, flipping once. 

They were AWESOME! Because they were so frugal (Less than $5 for all of them!) I wanted to give them a fancy name so I tried calling them Trim Healthy Mama Croquettes, but my kids called them “Tuna Cakes” so it stuck. Call them whatever you want, but they are tasty an frugal, and tasty…right I said that.

I ate mine with  as side of buttery broccoli, and my kids had homemade ketchup and buttery broccoli with theirs to add more carbs. In the future, I will make theirs with soaked brown rice.

What is your favorite “I made this up” meal?

 

Leave a Reply

