Bulletproof Coffee Grog (S)

We are heavy coffee drinkers in our house. In fact, we love coffee so much that when God gave us an opportunity for a home-based business that sells coffee, we jumped on it! (And the bags are 16oz)

Our first coffee transition was to a locally roasted coffee that is sold in stores.

After a search for coffee sacks, we found a new coffee brewer locally, that also gives away their bags (score!). We love them so much, we still buy coffee from them also, and mix it with our healthy coffee…or I get their decaf for my dinner snack.

A few years ago, I got DH this really neat book from a yard sale. And I bought it for a nickel. So yes- you CAN get something for a nickel!

photo copy 6

Our favorite recipe in here is Grog- it is hot and spiced and makes you feel like you went back in time to Scandinavia or Ireland during winter.

I have been researching Renaissance Fair garb for November so I am a bit nostalgic and want a wool cape- but I will settle for some Grog- made THM style.

grog

 BULLET PROOF COFFEE GROG

  • 2 cups freshly brewed coffee (preferably organic)
  • 1-2 TBS unsalted grass-fed butter
  • 2 TBS Coconut oil
  • Stevia to taste (I often leave this out unless I want a dessert drink)
  • 1/8 tsp of each ground spice: cinnamon, allspice, nutmeg, cloves
  • 1 small strip orange peel
  • 1 small strip lemon peel
  • 1 tsp rum extract (opt. I don’t use)

DIRECTIONS:

Pour 2 cups of coffee in your blender, add all ingredients EXCEPT orange and lemon peels. Blend until emulsified and frothy. (This is about 2 minutes with my blender, but it may be faster in yours.)

In your mug, place the peels and pour the grog mix over them. Let sit for 1 minute and enjoy!

*You can take the peels out after a few minutes or you can leave them in, just don’t forget they are there and gulp your last swallow of coffee- lemon peel feels really bad going down your throat!

Happy Fall! cozy up to a fireplace with this steamy-healthy coffee. Since it is an S, it would really rock with this brownie pizza from Stacy!

2 thoughts on “Bulletproof Coffee Grog (S)

  1. I think I’m gonna have to BITE THE BULLET and eventually try one of these. Ha, ha! Pun intended. 🙂
    Thanks for linking at Trim Healthy Tuesday!

    • Oh Stacy, they are SO good, I don’t even buy cream for my coffee anymore! When I am out of coconut oil, I just use some good ‘ol buttah- tastes just like fresh cream.

Leave a Reply

