(E)asy Italian Chicken Soup

I am still learning how to menu plan. I jump around to different programs, try the pencil and paper route etc and seem to fall back on…

“Hmm, what can I make from this stuff I have here”

My dad is the King of Leftovers- whatever is left gets added to the next day’s menu. And it really does taste better the next day! But for whatever reason, I can’t perfect the leftover…

BUT- that was a side bar because this meal doesn’t even use leftovers-unless you count the fact that the can of tomatoes was not a full can because I robbed a TBS for a different meal.

With THM, I am having an interesting time with the (E) meals. These are the medium carb meals with limited fats (like spaghetti with NO CHEESE!)

I figure the easiest way to get broth in my family and eat cheap and healthy is with soup. And I want to start by making them E meals.

So here is my first E soup.

(e)asy italian chicken soup

(E)asy Italian Chicken Soup

  • 1 lb ground chicken breast
  • 1 can garbanzo beans
  • 1 12oz can crushed tomatoes
  • 1 qt fat free organic chicken stock
  • 2 handfuls spinach (it was what I had left)
  • 1/4 cup quinoa, rinsed (it was all I had left in the pantry)
  • 1 TBSP Italian seasoning
  • 1tsp butter or coconut oil (no more than this)
  • garlic powder
  • salt and pepper to taste

In a large stock pan, cook chicken in 1tsp butter/oil until browned. Add the salt, pepper and garlic powder while the chicken is cooking. Add remaining ingredients and simmer until the quinoa is cooked (about 20 minutes). This is THM friendly, so for kids you will want to add some cheese to theirs.

I will be making this again, DH added Tabasco to his and I added cayenne to mine, so if you don’t have kids eating, feel free to spice it up! This just fed 2 adults and 3 kids, but there was nothing left for DH to take for lunch so I will double this recipe next time for sure.

 

This post is linked at Trim Healthy Tuesdays

 

3 thoughts on “(E)asy Italian Chicken Soup

  1. Looks really good!

  2. Barry loves Italian Wedding Soup, so I bet he would like this too! Great E!! Thanks for linking at Trim Healthy Tuesday!

Leave a Reply

