~ Trim Healthy Tuesday~ Vanilla Blueberry Jello-

jello

 

We love jello. mmm J-ello (that’s my Bill Cosby voice)

Growing up in Texas, it was the best treat when mom would make jigglers! We got to play with the cookie cutters and eat wiggly-jiggly lime flavored stars… raise of hands for all the jello jiggler babies…

Jello was touted as being good for your skin and nails so my mom made it at least once a week.

Gelatin is very good for you- but food coloring is icky icky icky! So is the fake lime flavor and the fake sugar added to it.  All the fakety fakeness (we make up words in this house)  it takes away from any of the good that jello has the potential to be. How do you make fake lime flavor anyway?

For the past 5 years, I have been making my own all natural jello. You know- juice, gelatin and  turbinado sugar- yum yum!!!

But now that we are eating the Trim Healthy Mama way, I needed to adapt some of our favorites.

Here is our new, kid tested, hubby approved THM Jello! No one even missed the sugar -woohoo!!!

 2 Versions: Vegan and Regular FUEL PULL

You do NOT set up the vegan gel like you would regular gelatin. It is much faster and was what I had on hand. This is not as healthy as beef gelatin but it was on clearance and I bought it thinking it was regular gelatin. It makes a really good jello though!

VEGAN:

gel

1 box Natural Desserts unflavored vegan dessert gel

2 cups water

1/4-1/2 cup blueberries

1 TBS vanilla

4 TBS Truvia (or stevia to taste)

Put water, blueberries and Truvia in a pan and bring to a boil.  Remove from heat, add  vanilla and whisk in the dessert gel. (You need to move quickly here, it is not like  regular gelatin) Quickly pour into a mold or pan and put in fridge to cool. Let set for 2  hours and enjoy!

REGULAR:

2 Envelopes Knox Gelatin

1 cup cold water

1 cup boiling water

1/2 cup blueberries

4 TBS Trivia

1 TBS Vanilla

In a bowl, sprinkle gelatin on cold water and let sit for 10 minutes. Meanwhile, heat 1 cup water, blueberries and Truvia in a saucepan until boiling. Pour boiling syrup over set gelatin and stir until dissolved. Add vanilla and pour into mold. Refrigerate until set.

Both versions are yummy, but I prefer using real gelatin.

MMM, I would eat this for breakfast with some yogurt, or over cottage cheese. Or with my fingers…oh wait, that is exactly how I ate it! Yum!

I think I will have to make another batch to serve on the side of Stacy’s Cottage Cheese Omelets she made for Trim Healthy Tuesday-

(Corey hates cottage cheese too so don’t tell him what’s in it).

My next recipe tweak will include some cream and other flavors!

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “~ Trim Healthy Tuesday~ Vanilla Blueberry Jello-

  1. I can’t wait to make this! I’ve already got it printed out and ready to go for meal planning tomorrow. 🙂
    Thanks for linking at Trim Healthy Tuesday!

  2. Hi there, how much is 2 pgs knox gelatin. I have some bulk I’d like to use.

    • Each packet should be around 2.5 TBSP. The Knox site said each package gels 2 cups, but I like mine thicker, so adjust it to your taste. Let me know how it turns out- I am off to try some blackberry because they are on sale!

Leave a Reply

